Strong & Kind: And Other Important Character Traits Your Child Needs to Succeed

Giveaway info at the end of post.
Strong and Kind: And Other Important Character Traits Your Child Needs to Succeed
Author: Korie Robertson
Release Date: October 27, 2015
Publisher: Harper Collins Christian Publishing
Pages: 240
Official Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram#StrongAndKind | #StrongAndKindKids

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I will have to preface this by saying I have never watched an episode of Duck Dynasty. I have read things here and there about their family, and it has been interesting finding out info about them. I was drawn to the topic of the book because as I watch my girls grow up, I realize there is only a small window of time for me to impress upon them, not just by telling them, but by showing them as well, the traits I think are important. I love watching them discover who they are more and more each day, and I’m learning that some of who they are is not who I am…i.e. One certain girl loves to be with people pretty much all the time. She can’t be alone. That is definitely not me. Another certain girl can talk all the day long if she didn’t have a book in her hand. The book part is me, but definitely NOT the non-stop talking part…at least, I don’t think… :p And then there are so many messages that the world sends that aren’t always so great, especially in this age of technology and social media.

After being a parent for twenty years, I have come to believe that the most important thing for parents to decide – more important than bottle- or breastfeeding, more important than co-sleeping or sleep training, and even more important than whether to put your child in day care or become a stay-at-home parent – is what values are important to your family and how you will go about instilling those values in your children. – Korie Robertson

In Strong and Kind: And Other Important Character Traits Your Child Needs to Succeed, Korie Robertson, mother of five, discusses how developing good character in our kids the most important thing we can do to help them lead happy, healthy adult lives. Among the extremes of parenting that I read about all over media, I find Korie’s book refreshing because there seems to be a balance of a present parent who is not overbearing but is also not overly lenient.

 

 

About the Author

Korie Robertson, wife of Duck Commander® CEO Willie Robertson and star of A&E’s beloved series Duck Dynasty, is a mother of five a New York Times bestselling author of several books. She is also an in-demand public speaker, Duck Commander® executive, entrepreneur and found of boutique Duck and Dressing, and philanthropist, who remains active with a variety of organizations that focus on children, adoption, and foster care. Korie lives with her family in West Monroe, Louisiana.

GIVEAWAY

One lucky reader will receive a copy of Strong & Kind. Giveaway ends Tuesday, November 3rd. (Giveaway open to US and Canada residents ONLY. If you have been a winner of one of our giveaways in the last 30 days, you are not eligible for this giveaway.)

For your chance to win, leave a comment below sharing the two traits you would like to instill in your children, or something about Duck Dynasty, or if you watched Sadie on Dancing With the Stars, or just say “Howdy”. For extra entries, tweet about the book, share on Facebook, or leave a comment on any post on our family blog Keeping Up with the Moys. Leave separate comments to each extra entry with link to entry if possible.

– Joyce

Other reviews:
goodreads
Barnes & Noble

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
8 thoughts on “Strong & Kind: And Other Important Character Traits Your Child Needs to Succeed

  1. Pingback: Books I’ve Read {November Update} | Keeping up with the Moys
  2. Pingback: Blog Year in Review {2015} | Keeping up with the Moys

Leave a Reply

