Nichole Nordeman – The Unmaking

Giveaway info at the end of the post.

nichole nordemanNichole Nordeman – The Unmaking
Label: Sparrow
Released August 28, 2015
Website | FB | IG | Twitter | NicholeNordemanVEVO

ABOUT The Unmaking

“Before things in our lives can be resurrected and given new life, certain things must die. Before beauty blooms in spring, roots must do the hard work under the hard frozen soil of winter. Before you renovate and re-build, you tear down the parts of the structure that are weak or damaged or dangerous. Before we make, we must unmake.” Nichole Nordeman

I LOVE Nichole Nordeman’s new album. I tried to pick one or two of the songs that stood out to me, but they are all great. I think I have been each of the places Nichole sings about in each of the songs. I wanted to share a bit about each one and the lyrics that speak to me.

1The Unmaking – I’m fairly certain I have forgotten God’s faithfulness many times, and every time there is a breaking that happens before I can see clearly and remember His love and grace and peace and patience and mercy and love again… And when I remember those things, I know there is an ending to those things He has not called me to, and something new, something more beautiful begins. Love the piano in this song.
.
.
.
.
.
.
2Not to Us – I actually wanted to highlight some other lyrics in this song at first, but the more I listened to it, the more powerful these words became. If all that we do would be for His glory, and we didn’t have our own agendas and judgments, we would be able to see more clearly grace and love.
.
..
.

.
.
.
.
3Name – In the song, Nichole talks about a dark heart, small cave, bitter night, and mud. None of those things are lovely, but I love that these images are a contrast to the life we have in Him. When you hear the lyrics of the remainder of the song, it is even clearer how deep His love is for us. How amazing that the Creator of the universe knows my name! A lively song with a message that He is a God who is alive in us.
.
..
.

.
.
4Love You More – He is a God of second (and more!) chances. I love that because I need lots of chances! The song also says, “I keep thinking there’s a limit,” but there’s not…He keeps forgiving us and loving us. The lyrics refer to different stories in the Bible, and it reminds me that no one is perfect, not even those who He has used to do great things. And we shouldn’t chase perfection, we are to chase the Perfecter. Very reflective song.
.
..
.

.
.
5

Something Out of Me – This ties in the last song…it references the story of the feeding of the 5,000, and how He can use anyone to do amazing and big things, even if we only have some bread and fish, He can use that to feed 5,000 people! Catchy tunes for this one. 🙂
.
.
.

.
.
.

6

Slow Down – If don’t have some tissue (the facial kind) nearby, step away and get some. You’ll need it for this song. Even just have lived through these 8 years of motherhood, it is true that the days are long, but the years are quick. There are moments we don’t want to ever deal with again (pukey babies and poopy diapers), but the snuggles, the “firsts”, the giggles, those moments when they think mom and dad know everything and can fix anything, they are so cherished and those are the moments we want them to slow down and quit the growing up business. It is amazing to watch them become their own person and to discover the world, but for now, I’ll take and savor every minute I can of their hugs and kisses and “I love you”s.

About Nichole Nordeman

Nichole Nordeman is a recording artist and songwriter for Sparrow/EMI CMG, with numerous number-one and top ten singles to her credit and cumulative CD sales of over one million. A two-time Gospel Music Association winner for Female Vocalist of the Year, she has won a total of nine Dove Awards, including the best-selling album, Music Inspired by The Story. Her best-known songs include “Holy”, “Legacy”, “Brave”, “This Mystery”, “Why”, and “What If”. She lives with her family in Tulsa, OK.

The Unmaking Songs:

1. The Unmaking
2. Not To Us
3. Name
4. Love You More
5. Something Out Of Me
6. Slow Down

GIVEAWAY

One lucky reader will receive a copy of the album The Unmaking. Giveaway ends Friday, September 11th. (If you have been a winner of one of our giveaways in the last 30 days, you are not eligible for this giveaway.)

For your chance to win, leave a comment below sharing about your favorite album or song, or just say “Howdy”. For extra entries, tweet about the album, share on Facebook, or leave a comment on any post on our family blog Keeping Up with the Moys. Leave separate comments to each extra entry with the link to entry if possible.

Other reviews:
Amazon.com (The Unmaking)

Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.

If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller / FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days, you are not eligible to win.  Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.”

14 thoughts on “Nichole Nordeman – The Unmaking

  1. Thanks Joyce for your post. Today was one of those “days are long” days…and the reminder that the “years are fast” from your post was an encouragement for me as I sit here and try to decompress from the trenches of sick kids and moving…and humbly ask Him to help me start over tomorrow and slow down enough to savor the moments with these monkeys. I love the words you quoted from her song “hold hands through it”…is the pefect image of the 3 pairs of tiny little hands I need the grace to tackle each day through and the same image of my hands in His Big Hands 🙂

  2. I have heard “Unmaking” on the radio several times, and I didn’t know who sang it, but now I do! Let’s just say…it’s one of those songs that just speaks to my heart. LOVE it!

  3. Pingback: Blog Year in Review {2015} | Keeping up with the Moys

Leave a Reply

