The Promise: Birth of the Messiah, The Animated Musical (DVD)

promise-coverThe Promise: Birth of the Messiah, The Animated Musical
Glorious Films
45 minutes
Website | FB | Twitter | Amazon | YouTube

ABOUT THE PROMISE
You have probably already heard the story of Mary and Joseph, their journey to Bethlehem, and the birth of Jesus. This DVD, The Promise: The Birth of the Messiah, is something a little different. It is an animated musical. At first, I didn’t know what to expect. Would it be a little cheesy? Animated characters singing and dancing about the Savior’s birth? But I LOVED it!

We received the DVD on Friday, after Thanksgiving, when my in-laws were all over helping us do Christmas decorating, so we ended our day with a movie night. It has not been a week yet, and we have watched it a second time already. This account of Jesus’ birth is from the Gospel of Luke.

Melody (age 6)
What the DVD is about: The Promise was about before Jesus was born, and when he was born. Mary and Joseph got engaged and married, and they had Jesus. The shepherds came.
Like: I like the music and the animations. I like how it talks about Jesus.
Dislike: I didn’t like that they did have closed captioning, so I didn’t know what was going on in the parts where I couldn’t hear what they were saying.
Recommend: Older kids

Emily (age 4)
What the DVD is about: The DVD is about when God/Jesus was born on Earth.
Like: I like when the baby was born. I like the “Jooooohhhhhhnnnnnn” part. (Zechariah got his voice back and was saying he wanted his son to be named John.)
Dislike:  I liked all the stuff.
Recommend: My friends Ashlyn and Jadyn should watch this. Those are my best buddies. And Becca, my best friend.

20131203_125817 20131203_125849

Notes from Melody and Emily’s mom:
The beginning was a little confusing because it started out with the priest in the temple singing. There were a few other parts in the musical that was a little confusing to the girls, like who the characters were, but that was a good thing because we got to take a look in the Bible to really read about the story in its details. My favorite part is Mary’s song, I Will Magnify. (You can listen to the song, and others on the website HERE.)

I think the musical is a pretty accurate account of everything surrounding The Promise of God sending the Messiah. I really liked that we really see the emotions of Mary and Joseph. I feel like we usually focus only on the baby Jesus, but throughout the musical, you get a peek at the love that the young couple had for one another. Melody even commented, “I think they are in love.” And maybe it is just me, but whenever I hear the story, I just see them as Mary, mother of Jesus, riding on the donkey, and Joseph, father of Jesus, pulling the donkey along and knocking on doors to see where there was room for them. In this musical, you really see them as they probably would have been after the appearance of the angel, kind of struggling to grasp the truth of what is happening, and then, the tender moments before the birth and after as they were in the stable together, a family of three for the first time.

The animation was incredible, and while it felt like the ballet did not quite fit in during some parts of the story, the performance of actual ballet dancers and dramatic stage actors blended with traditional animation techniques using optical motion technology was impressive. When my dad caught a glimpse of the movie when we were watching it, he asked if they were real people or animation.

Glorious Films will be releasing their second film, The Prodigal, in Spring 2014. It should be a good one too.

GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED! Congrats to our winner, Janna!
One lucky reader will receive a copy of The Promise DVD. Giveaway ends Wednesday, December 11th. (Giveaway open to US residents ONLY. If you have been a winner of one of our giveaways in the last 30 days, you are not eligible for this giveaway.) We’re trying out a different way to do our giveaways, and keeping all review products, etc. on this site. Let us know if you have any questions.

Tell us your favorite part of the Christmas story, and click on THIS RAFFLECOPTER LINK to see how you can enter for your chance to win, and how to earn extra entries too!

– Joyce

Other reviews of The Promise:
Amazon.com

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
7 thoughts on “The Promise: Birth of the Messiah, The Animated Musical (DVD)

  1. The thought of the quiet time with Mary and Joseph and Jesus right after baby Jesus was born — it didn’t matter where they were, they were likely just so happy to have a healthy baby — and their realization through experience that God was so real.

  2. Pingback: Gift Guide: Children’s Christmas DVDs | Keeping up with the Moys

Leave a Reply

