The First Christmas Night

first christmasThe First Christmas Night
Written by: Keith Christopher
Illustrated by: Christine Kornacki
Publisher: Ideals Books
Hardcover: 32 pages
Ideals Books FB | Website

Here are the girls’ review of the book:

Melody
Like: I like that the book rhymes. I like the artistic drawing. I like how they shaded it in and there are shadow, and made it real. I like the cover because I like the gold writing. I like the story because it is about baby Jesus and his birth.
Dislike: I don’t have anything I don’t like.
Recommend: I recommend it to little kids.

Emily
Like: I like that Jesus was born. The front cover is beautiful because it is shiny and bumpy. I like the rhymes and the pictures.
Dislike: I don’t like the small words.
Recommend: I recommend it to my family and my friends.

Notes from Melody and Emily’s mom:
I love reading the Christmas story, but I like this book for the rhymes that tell the story. It was actually the first thing the girls noticed about the story when we started reading it. “Hey, it rhymes!” If your kids are familiar with the ‘Twas the night before Christmas’ poem, they will catch onto this story. The illustrations in the book are gorgeous too. They are very detailed and realistic. Any fans of the American Girl series will see that the drawings are familiar. Christine is the illustrator of the Marie Grace and Cecille series. This is sure to be one that we will read over and over each year.

Other reviews of The First Christmas Night:
Amazon.com
Barnes & Noble
goodreads.com
christianbook.com

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Leave a Reply

