Bread & Wine: A Love Letter to Life Around the Table with Recipes

bread and wineBread & Wine: A Love Letter to Life Around the Table with Recipes
by Shauna Niequist
Published by Zondervan
2013
279 pages

Sooo, if you follow me on Twitter, or Facebook, or Instagram, you saw me raving about this book…seriously, since the first day I got it. I had actually never heard of Shauna Niequist before, I just saw that a lot of bloggers who inspire me were reading the book, and I know that Shauna will be one of the speakers at our MOPS Power On Leadership Connection this Saturday.

Once I started in on it, I really started to LOVE it! (Buy this book! or at least borrow it from me if you are local to me.) By the end of the book, I felt like I knew Shauna. <– You see, we’re on a first name basis already. Her writing makes you feel like she’s a new friend who you’re having coffee (or wine, or tea, or whatever beverage of choice), and sharing life with, as you get to know her. And it’s possible if you’re local because she has a good friend who lives in Alameda. No, I’m not a stalker, she posted it on her IG during book launch week.

It’s not, actually, strictly, about food for me. It’s about what happens when we come together, slow down, open our homes, look into one another’s faces, listen to one another’s stories. – Shauna Niequist

Growing up, our family has always been a food kind of family. My parents did own a restaurant, and are superb cooks. So there’s that, but also that we enjoy eating our meals together. I’m sure we had our days when we sat in front of the TV or whatnot to eat lunch, but we mostly ate together, even if one or two of us were not home that day. And this is still true of my own family. We eat all our meals together at our kitchen table (no dining set yet) every night. There are a few rare nights when we don’t, but we mostly do. And we love having people over to enjoy a meal together, even if I’m not a good cook, or if we just order out, or if it is a potluck. Is it always a perfect time together? No. Let’s face it, kids don’t sit for that long. But I love that we get to feed our bodies and our souls with food and conversation. And we love trying new food (bummer that a lot of our friends are picky eaters!), and trying new recipes.

When you offer peace instead of division, when you offer faith instead of fear, when you offer someone a place at your table instead of keeping them out because they’re different or messy or wrong somehow, you represent the heart of Christ. – Shauna Niequist

Through her collection of essays, you hear Shauna’s story. And it’s not one of those stories that you read and continue on with your day. It’s one of those stories that makes you think, and connect, and laugh or cry… Trust me, she’ll make you laugh, and she’ll make you cry. Grab some tissue now. They’re great stories. She has a great story to share, and you will find a connecting point, because, well, we all need to eat. 🙂

Bread & Wine will make you want to go all Bobby Flay in the kitchen. We don’t have TV, so I think he’s some kind of food guy, right?

Bonus: At the end of the book, there are some complete menus using recipes from the book, for a four-week book club/cooking club discussion guide.

Other reviews of Bread & Wine:
Amazon
goodreads
Barnes & Noble

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
One thought on “Bread & Wine: A Love Letter to Life Around the Table with Recipes

  1. Pingback: What We’re Eating: Blueberry Crisp (Bread & Wine) | Keeping up with the Moys

Leave a Reply

