Tangled Ashes

Tangled Ashes
by Michele Phoenix
Published by Tyndale House Publishers
2012
385 pages

The beginning was a little slow and confusing because it kept switching back and forth between a different time period/scene (think: every other chapter of Grapes of Wrath), but after I got past the first few chapters, I couldn’t put the book down! I don’t have huge chunks of time to read, so it took me awhile to adjust going between the 40s and present day.

I tend not to read the little summary on the back of books, so I can get into the story as it goes along. I really didn’t know what to expect.

There is the story of Marie and Elise, two girls who were hired to work at the manor where they are caring for women who were having babies to grow the Aryan race. The year is 1944. The place  – France. It is an intense story, but the plot thickens once one of the girls become even more involved in what is happening at the manor.

The present day story is of Becker, who is hired by Fallon to help restore an old castle for his wife’s 40th birthday celebration, as well as making it into a hotel. Becker deals with some of the demons in his life, past regrets which makes his connection with the Fallon family, along with their nanny, an awkward one at times. During the completion of Becker’s time on the project, there are unexplained disturbances on the grounds, and it is revealed that Nazi occupation took place in this historical building.

– Joyce

Other reviews of Tangled Ashes:
amazon.com
christianbook.com
Barnes & Noble

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
2 thoughts on “Tangled Ashes

  1. Pingback: Review: Tangled Ashes | Keeping up with the Moys
  2. Pingback: Our Week in Photos (Week 43 of 52) | Keeping up with the Moys

Leave a Reply

