Mom Connection

Mom Connection: Creating Vibrant Relationships in the Midst of Motherhood
by Tracey Bianchi
Published by Revell
2012
195 pages

The theme for MOPS 2012-2013 year is Plunge: Love as if your life depended on it. The theme book for the year is Mom Connection by Tracey Bianchi. The theme and this book is all about relationships. Relationships – we need them, we crave them…even though sometimes they are tough. Even introverts like me need relationships…even though most of the time I would love to just hide out in my room and read! :p

Mom Connection is broken up into 3 sections:

  1. Why We Need Rhythm in Our Lives
  2. Creating a Rhythm for Relationships
  3. Sharing Your Rhythm

Here’s what Tracey has to say about a relationship with our husband:

Early on, my husband would joke that we lived man-to-man defense and then, as our pediatrician put it, “switched to zone” once our third child was born. Whatever defense you are playing, you will lose if you are out of sync with the only other teammate you have. Our children also stumble when we are out of whack with our spouse.

She also talks about relationships with relatives, friends, neighbors, and others in our community. In each chapter, Tracey shares with us her wisdom about relationships, gives us FIVE Mom-Tested Tips (3 practical ideas to try, a prayer/blessing, and an idea to journal or write about), asks two review questions, and lists a few more resources regarding the chapter’s topic.

I’m not one to give new (or any) moms advice only because I feel like every child (and every mom) is different. Something that may work for one kid (or mom) may not work for another. One thing that I will tell new moms is that they need relationships in their lives. Yes, they can be tough (and tough to find) sometimes, but what I love about MOPS is that is really and truly is a wonderful community where I have found great friendships and great relationships. And this is what Tracey is talking about. It might not be a MOPS or moms group, it might be a woman across the street, or it can even come in the form of a strange at the checkout stand, but just being open to those relationships is the start.

You can read more about the author and enter a GIVEAWAY for this book on our family blog.

– Joyce

Other reviews of Mom Connection:
amazon
Hobbies on a Budget
Learning to Love

“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
6 thoughts on “Mom Connection

  1. Pingback: Review and Giveaway: Mom Connection | Keeping up with the Moys
  2. I would love a chance to read this book to learn how to make the time necessary to build and deepen friendships.

  3. Pingback: giveaway–newly published book! « Divine Steps
  4. I’m really looking forward to reading this year’s book — relationships throw me for a loop all the time. Thanks so much for your review, Joyce!

Leave a Reply

