Learning with Curious George Preschool Reading

The Learning Company, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
64 pages
For ages 3-7

Sidenote: This is not the first time that we’ve received a request to review a product, but it is the first time that we have accepted a product for review. I do like getting free things, but only if they are things that I can see myself using. While workbooks is not the best way for all kids to learn, it is the way that my girls love to learn.

Learning with Curious George Preschool Reading was the 2nd book we received from The Learning Company.

The reading components that are taught in Learning with Curious George are:

  • Alphabet order
  • ABC order of words
  • Beginning writing and drawing
  • Text movement
  • Practice drawing and writing

First, we will start with Melody’s review of the Curious George workbook.

The Good :: You get to learn letters.
The Not-so-Good :: Melody didn’t have any “not-so-good”s
Suggestions :: There should be more tracing and drawing.

Here are my thoughts:
I think children who know Curious George will be at least interested in trying the workbook even if they normally wouldn’t sit down to work on them. I tried this with Melody, who is my older one, almost 5 years old. I have to note that she is a little advanced for her age (i.e. reading 3rd grade level chapter books), so the actual work on the pages was easy for her. Nevertheless, she still wanted to work on some of the pages. I let her flip through the workbook and she picked out a few to do. She really liked the themes (clouds and camping). I really like that the workbook provides different ways of teaching the same skills/concepts to a child. I think Melody’s favorites were the mazes and tracing. I will have my younger one, who is 2.5 years old, try out some of the pages, and will report back later on, how she liked it.

You can also go online to their website for some activities that go along with the workbooks.

You can buy Learning with Curious George Preschool Reading on Amazon.com. See the book info page here on The Learning Company Workbooks website or The Learning Company website.

– Joyce

Disclosure: I was provided with 2 free workbooks to review on my blog. The opinions I have given are mine and may differ from others but were not influenced by the company or the free product provided.
2 thoughts on “Learning with Curious George Preschool Reading

  1. Pingback: Review: Workbook (Curious George) | Keeping up with the Moys
  2. Pingback: Our Week in Photos (Week 50 of 52) | Keeping up with the Moys

Leave a Reply

