51st State (Update)

Address: Since it’s a food truck, it moves.  Follow them on Twitter or Facebook for locations.
Phone: (415) 505-3596
Website: http://51ststatesf.com/

The first time I frequented this food truck was during an Off The Grid: Civic Center event which I reviewed.  I had the quail with maple syrup and grits.  The quail was well-seasoned, but the grits were plain-jane and badly needed the maple syrup.

I gave 51st state another try with one of their regular weekly spots being somewhat close to my workplace.  It was a nice sunny day and I put in my order for Brunswick Stew and a Mini Banana Cream Pie for dessert.  Somehow after waiting a bit, people that ordered after me got their food first.  The cashier apologized and rushed my forgotten food order in and told me I could take a beverage for free for reparation.  I took a Cheerwine: a cherry soda in a glass bottle.

When I got back to work with my lunch order, I opened the 51st State labeled brown paper bag and opened the hinged paper container box to reveal/eat the mini banana cream pie.  It was smooth and lined with chocolate in a nilla wafer crumb crust and whipped cream and chunks of banana inside.  A mini tin would have been useful though.

After the stew cooled down a bit, I slowly ate it and it had huge chunks of spicy sausage, chicken, potatoes, corn, lima bean, small pieces of bacon, and green onion in a rich tomato broth.  The stew turned out to be even chunkier than Campbell’s Chunky soups.  This somewhat made up for the ordering mishap and was quite tasty.  It even came with a chunk of sourdough bread.

– Norm

Children’s Menu [n]
Changing Station [n]
Highchairs/Boosters [n]
Stroller Access [the sidewalk since it’s a food truck]

Other reviews of 51st State:
yelp
chowhound
UrbanDaddy
SFWeekly
GrubStreet

2 thoughts on “51st State (Update)

  1. Pingback: Review: 51st State (SF Food Truck) « Keeping up with the Moys
  2. Pingback: Our Week in Photos (Week 10 of 52) « Keeping up with the Moys

Leave a Reply

